try the craigslist app » Android iOS



Carer/PA Required (Coventry)

compensation: £464.97
employment type: contract

Are you a student starting university in September?

Do you want a job that pays better than bar jobs and shop work?

If so, read on…

I require a new carer/PA.

I am 36, male and have Muscular Dystrophy, I work and have a busy social life.

I require new Personal Assistant(s) to work for me between 6:30pm Thursday to 8am Monday. This is a ‘weekend’ shift, and the rate for each shift before any deductions (Tax/NI/Pension) is £464.97.

I am flexible on the number of shifts you work per four-week pay cycle, there is no flexibility on the shift’s hours or duration.

Your duties will include, but not be limited to:

Personal care - which is help washing, dressing and in the toilet.
Assisting me with my job - mainly a pair of hands where required.
Accompanying me on social occasions.
Assisting me with practical tasks at home and also at work.
General domestic duties, cleaning, cooking, shopping etc.
You may be required to accompany me on holidays, as I like to travel and see the world.

Preferred (but not essential) skills for the role are:

Fluent spoken English.
A full UK Driving Licence.
The ability to be able to socialise with me and my friends. (This isn’t a job for the socially anxious)
The ability to accompany me to family social occasions.
Willingness to spend nights away from my home with me, usually due to work commitments, or social occasions.

Although you may at times have to assist me with my job, this is unlikely as weekend staff are on the days I do not work.

However if you do need to accompany me to work, as you are covering another shift, you should have:

The ability to “fit in” in a busy, professional, smart workplace
A reasonable grasp of technology, as you will be assisting me to demonstrate these with work to professional users.
The ability to drive long distances, sometimes my work can take me to any area in the UK. 

I am ideally looking for a PA/carer who is quite happy having an unpredictable job, as I tend to do things on a spur of the moment basis. If you end up working for me, don’t be too surprised if I text you a couple of days before to say we are having a weekend away somewhere as I love to see the world, after lockdown!

Being honest, I am not worried about your previous experience in care, it is far more important that we get on, as we will be spending a lot of time together in various social situations. There is no aspect of working for me that is medically complicated, it is basic personal care and I can explain everything that needs doing clearly and easily, you will be fine as long as you have a willingness to listen and learn.

The only criteria I do insist upon is that you will have a willingness to keep my flat clean and tidy, I have had many carers in the past who neglect simple domestic duties, which are part of the job role, I am not a clean-freak, I just expect a decent level of tidiness and domestic tasks to be completed.

It is also important although not essential that you hold a full UK driving licence, as I need a driver to support me to get around and potentially to drive me to work.

I would also request that you include a paragraph or two about yourself, and what you like to do in the email, so I could get a picture of the sort of person I am employing.

Please tell me about your hobbies, current situation, and what you would like to get out of the job and what you think you can bring to the role that will make you stand out against the other applicants?

Please also let me know the number of shifts per pay cycle you’d like to work?

Thank you.
  • Principals only. Recruiters, please don't contact this job poster.
  • do NOT contact us with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7198151603



best of [?]